Europe bike trip 2015 – Day 2 – Munich city tour

Munich Marienplatz
I woke up, better I jumped out of the tent, since I didn’t sleep during the night, at 6am. It was so cold that I couldn’t find a position that kept me warmed. My feet were basically frozen since last evening. 🙂


First thing that I’ve done is finding a warm place with the wifi where I could look for another accommodation. I could manage to cycle from the campsite to a McCafe on the city center. Hands frozen (even if it was so cold for me there were people walking wearing t-shirt :-o).
I sent a couple of request via Couchsurfing and I found a hostel close to the train station.

Plan of the day: go to the Crocs store and buy the boat line shoes and doing a city tour.
Ah and also fix my front wheel… In fact last night I was carrying the bag with my food on my left hand while I was cycling. The precious glass-bottle beer went between the spokes and have been broken! 😦
I was quite upset for the lost of the golden liquid last night… but even more this morning when I realised that the wheel was unbalanced and was touching the brakes at every revolution. Since that in 2 days I have to cycle 650 km from Munich to Ferrara I thought it was a wise idea to fix this problem. Do you realise how time, money and energy can cause the stupidity of a lack of attention?

After a shitty breakfast and the temperature of my hands started to reach the non-frozen level I went to the Crocs store. On the way I found a bike shop and I asked for help. “I don’t have time, try to the other bike shop over there”. It was closed. 😦
I eventually arrived at the Crocs shop and the model that I wanted to buy wasn’t anymore available. Good. First thing on the list done. 😀

I bought some food and I had brunch at the Englischer Garten. This park is larger than Central Park!


I went to Marienplatz and using the free wifi I checked my email. Any couchsurfer was available to host me. I went to the hostel and asked if I could check in. Affermative. I decided to went back to the campsite, pack everything and move into the hostel.
Before returning to the campingplatz I stopped at another bike shop and asked if they can fix my wheel. “I don’t have time. Try to the other bike shop over there” (again…). This time “the other shop” was open and the funny guy fixed the spokes and the wheel was recalibrated. 12 euro. I need to learn how to adjust the spokes… 🙂

I checked in at the hostel and it was fun that after talking for about 5 minutes with the guy at the reception we realised that we were both Italians! “I thought you were Spanish by your accent!”. Really? 😀

Finally I went for a walking tour of the city center. Picture time.

After a couple of hours I had enough, I went to buy some food that I ate in another nice park.
I returned to the hostel had a chat with some of the other guests before going to sleep. On a proper bed. 😀

The video of the day

Expenses of the day

Food 7.77
Camping 10.00
Hostel 13.00
Totals 20.77

Leave a comment